Plenary Meeting of the Missile Technology Control Regime – Stockholm, Sweden – October 4-6, 1994

The Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) met in plenary session in Stockholm, Sweden, on October 4-6, 1994, to address the challenges of missile proliferation. Ambassador Gunnar Lund of the Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affairs chaired the meeting.

The MTCR was founded in 1987 with the purpose of controlling exports of missiles, as well as equipment and technology that could contribute to the proliferation of ballistic and cruise missiles capable of delivering nuclear weapons. In 1992 Oslo Plenary expanded the Regime’s Guidelines to embrace also control of missiles capable of delivering chemical and biological weapons.

The Stockholm plenary meeting agreed that the MTCR continues to be an essential mechanism to prevent proliferation of missiles capable of carrying weapons of mass destruction. The MTCR complements non proliferation instruments, i.e. the Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty, the Bacteriological and Toxin Weapons Convention and the Chemical Weapons Convention. Partners expressed their concern over continued missile proliferation, particularly in areas of instability or tension. They reiterated their determination to strengthen the MTCR as an important iPternational non-proliferation regime.

Partners again called on all countries, and in particular countries who are suppliers or transshippers of missile technology, to adhere to the MTCR Guidelines.

The Partners also pledged to intensify their contacts and co-operation with non-partners in order to foster understanding of the purposes and goals of the MTCR and to promote cooperation, confidence building and stability, particularly at the regional level.

MTCR Partners reacted favourably to Russia application for membership and will work with Russia with a view to a formal decision on its accession to the MTCR Regime by the end of the year or early next year.

Partners welcomed the important steps taken by South Africa in the field of non-proliferation, and agreed in principle to early South African membership. Noting the signing on October 4, 1994, of a joint statement on missile non-proliferation between the United States of America and the Peoples’ Republic of China, the Partners expressed the hope for a deepened dialogue between China and the MTCR about the guidelines and parameters of the Regime.

The next Plenary meeting of the Regime will be convened in Bonn, Germany on October 9-12, 1995.

The Following countries are members of the MTCR:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America.